ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule Announced. The Cricket World Cup 2019 is set to be staged in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019.
Entertainment Events

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule Announced

The gentlemen’s game has millions of hearts beating on every ball, wicket, four or a six, and for all the fans and cricket lovers, there is no bigger festival than the World Cup itself. Fans all over the world wait long to hear about the ICC Cricket World cup schedule. Here it is, good news for all cricket lovers, The Cricket World Cup 2019 is set to be staged in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019. It is the fifth time in the 12 edition of world cup that the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales, following the 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999  World Cups.

Fans all over the world wait for four long years to cheer for their favourite nation to lift the prestigious trophy and make all the fans proud. Teams battle for glory, boys become men, men become heroes, and heroes write history. The ICC World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events in the world and in Cricket World Cup 2019 there will be total 10 national teams competing in the mightiest arena of cricket to achieve this glory.

The total of 10 teams is a decrease in participating teams from previous versions of the world cup, i.e. in 2011 and 2015, where 14 teams competed. The hosts England and other seven top teams in the ICC One Day International Team Rankings as of September 30, 2017, were given an automatic qualification and the other two teams qualified through 2018 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. The qualified teams other than England are India, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Afghanistan where the latter two qualifying through the qualifiers.

There will be total 48 matches played across 11 different venues all across England and Wales for 46 days. Edgbaston Cricket Ground of Birmingham will host 5 matches, including the semi-final. Bristol County Ground will host 3 matches, Sophia Gardens of Cardiff will host 4 matches, Riverside Ground will host 3 matches, Headingley ground of Leeds will host 4 matches, County Ground of Taunton will host 3 matches, the Oval, Trent Bridge and Rose Bowl will each host 5 matches. Old Trafford stadium of Manchester will host 6 matches including the semifinal, and the final will be played in the Mecca of cricket, the Lord’s, which will also host 4 other group matches.

READ Too: Jodhpuri Saafa, Known For The Culture, Beauty, Respect And Elegance

The ten team tournament has gained criticism due to the lack of Associate teams in the tournament. After the elimination of Scotland and the United Arab Emirates, this will be the first World Cup to feature no Associate members. In June 2017, the Test playing nations has increased from 10 to 12, with the admission of Ireland and Afghanistan. It will be the first World Cup to be contested without all of the Test playing nations being present.

The tournament will be conducted in a Round Robin format where all the 10 teams will be placed in a single pool, where all the teams will play against each other once. Hence, each team will play a total of nine matches, making it a total of 45 matches in Group stage. After the successful completion of the group stage matches, the top four teams will progress to the knockout stage. This format was previously used in 1992 World Cup.

Hosts England will play the tournament opener against South Africa in the Oval in London on May 30th. Former champions and current ICC Champions Trophy winners Pakistan will bang their horns with reigning world Twenty20 champions and two-time former champions West Indies on 31 May at Trent Bridge. The defending and five-time world champions Australia will start their campaign against Afghanistan in Bristol on 1st June.

Afghanistan will also have their hopes high with their Qualifier conquest where they became the qualifier tournaments champions beating West Indies in the final. They have superstars like Rashid Khan in their ranks and look ready to kill some giants during their 9-match campaign.

The 1983 and 2011 world champions India will start their campaign with a match against the mighty South African team on 5 June at Rose Bowl in Southampton. The much-awaited clash between their bitter rivals Pakistan will be held on 16 June at prestigious Old Trafford of Manchester.

Edgbaston Ground in Birmingham and Old Trafford in Manchester will host the two semi-finals, which are scheduled to be played on 9 and 11 July while Lord’s will stage a World Cup final for the fifth time, on 14 July. All these three knockout matches will have reserve days.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule 

Date Fixture  (Day or Day-Night) Venue
30 May England v South Africa (d) The Oval, London
31 May West Indies v Pakistan (d) Trent Bridge, Nottingham
1 June New Zealand v Sri Lanka (d) Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
1 June Afghanistan v Australia (d/n) County Ground Bristol, Bristol
2 June South Africa v Bangladesh (d) The Oval, London
3 June England v Pakistan (d) Trent Bridge, Nottingham
4 June Afghanistan v Sri Lanka (d) Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
5 June South Africa v India (d) Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
6 June Australia v W Indies (d) Trent Bridge, Nottingham
7 June Pakistan v Sri Lanka (d) County Ground Bristol, Bristol
8 June England v Bangladesh (d) Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
8 June Afghanistan v New Zealand (d/n) County Ground, Taunton
9 June India v Australia (d) The Oval, London
10 June South Africa v W Indies (d) Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
11 June Bangladesh v Sri Lanka (d) County Ground Bristol, Bristol
12 June Australia v Pakistan (d) County Ground, Taunton
13 June India v New Zealand (d)  Trent Bridge, Nottingham
14 June England v W Indies (d) Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
15 June Sri Lanka v Australia (d) The Oval, London
15 June South Africa v Afghanistan (d/n) Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
16 June India v Pakistan (d) Old Trafford, Manchester
17 June W Indies v Bangladesh (d) County Ground, Taunton
18 June England v Afghanistan (d) Old Trafford, Manchester
19 June New Zealand v South Africa (d) Edgbaston, Birmingham
20 June Australia v Bangladesh (d) Trent Bridge, Nottingham
21 June England v Sri Lanka (d) Headingley, Leeds
22 June India v Afghanistan (d)  Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
22 June Windies v New Zealand (d/n) Old Trafford, Manchester
23 June Pakistan v South Africa (d) Lord’s, London
24 June Bangladesh v Afghanistan (d) Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
25 June England v Australia (d) Lord’s, London
26 June New Zealand v Pakistan (d) Edgbaston, Birmingham
27 June W Indies v India (d)  Old Trafford, Manchester
28 June Sri Lanka v South Africa (d) The Riverside, Chester-le-Street
29 June Pakistan v Afghanistan (d) Headingley, Leeds
29 June New Zealand v Australia (d/n) Lord’s, London
30 June England v India (d) Edgbaston, Birmingham
1 July Sri Lanka v Windies (d) The Riverside, Chester-le-Street
2 July Bangladesh v India (d)  Edgbaston, Birmingham
3 July England v New Zealand (d) The Riverside, Chester-le-Street
4 July Afghanistan v Windies (d) Headingley, Leeds
5 July Pakistan v Bangladesh (d/n) Lord’s, London
6 July Sri Lanka v India (d) Headingley, Leeds
6 July Australia v South Africa (d/n) Old Trafford, Manchester
9 July    First semi-final (1 v 4) (d) Old Trafford, Manchester
10 July Reserve day Old Trafford, Manchester
11 July Second semi-final (2 v 3) (d) Edgbaston, Birmingham
12 July Reserve day Edgbaston, Birmingham
14 July Final (d) Lord’s, London
15 July Reserve day Lord’s, London

(Image Courtesy : AS English – Diario AS)

About the author

Leave a Reply