IPL 2019 From March 23; Bigger, Mightier Cricket Tournament To Be Held In India, IPL 2019 Schedule, matches, IPL 2019 teams
Entertainment Events News

Mightier Cricket Tournament IPL 2019 To Be Held In India Only From March 23

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 is going to be bigger, better and mightier as all cricket lovers can find this out. This time that there will be a clash of IPL 2019 schedule with the General Elections Dates in India. The Lok Sabha Election in India is set to take place between April and May which led to speculation that the tournament might have been played elsewhere. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have confirmed that the IPL 2019 will be held in India and will begin from March 23, 2019.

There is only one full season of IPL which was played outside the country – this was in 2009 when Deccan Chargers won the match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (South Africa). In 2014, the first half of the IPL season was moved to UAE due to date clashed with General Election.

BCCI announced during its press conference that “Based on the preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state agencies/authorities, it was decided that the 12th edition of the world’s most popular and competitive T20 tournament will be scheduled to be played in India.”

The Indian Premier League was founded by BCCI and the former commissioner of the league Mr Lalit Modi in the year 2008. The IPL is a twenty20 cricket league in India. In 2014 IPL was ranked sixth in the world for the average attendance among all sports leagues. The tournament format is based on double round-robin and playoffs.

READ Too: RBSE Board Exam Timetable For Class 10th And 12th Announced

The IPL has been designed to entice an entirely new generation of sports fans into the grounds throughout the country. The dynamic 20-20 cricket format has been designed to attract a young fan base, which also includes women and children.

This will be the 12th season of the Indian Premier League, and it is scheduled to start IPL 2019 on March 23. The full schedule of IPL 2019 will be released in early February. As per IPL norm, the defending champion gets the rights to host the tournament opener and the final, so Chennai will get the both those key matches.

Winners of IPL Previous Seasons

The current IPL title holder is Chennai Super Kings which won the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018.

Season(s) Winners Runner-ups
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad

READ ALSO: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule Announced

IPL 2019 Playing Teams

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

Upcoming Events-

The Indian Premier League tournament is confirmed and will begin on March 23, 2019. The Supreme Court of India has appointed the Committee of Administrators to discuss the venues and window for the tournament. The fully charted schedule is yet to be announced by the committee.

The biggest challenges of the teams in this season would be the availability of the overseas players towards the tail end of the season, as World Cup tournament will begin on May 30 in England just a couple of week after the IPL 2019 season ends.

ALSO READ Ayushman Bharat Yojana: कैसे ले प्रधानमंत्री आरोग्य योजना ‘मोदीकेयर’ का लाभ

Connect with us for all latest updates on IPL 2019 through Facebook alsoLet us know for any queries or comments.

Please follow and like us:

About the author

Leave a Reply