Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute will hold six tournaments & 8 exhibition matches in 20th Jodhpur Polo season 2019, starting from Nov 25
Events News

20th Jodhpur Polo Season 2019 to Begin From November 25

The 20th Jodhpur Polo season 2019 will begin at Maharaja Gaj Singh Sports Foundation Polo Ground, Air Force Road, Pabupura, from November 25 to December 30 under the auspices of Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute, Jodhpur.

Jodhpur is one of the important polo center in the world. Polo and Jodhpur have shared a very strong bond since the 19th century. In 1897, Maharaja Pratap Singh took his local polo team, the Jodhpur Lancers to England, where their performance against the home teams made people sit up and take note.

Maharaja Gajsingh Ji, the present head of the erstwhile Jodhpur royal family, carved out a new grass ground in the shadow of the Umaid Bhavan Palace in 1997; he is also the ambassador and founding patron of the Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute.

Colonel Ummed Singh, honorary secretary, Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute, said that 6 tournaments and 8 exhibition matches will be played in Jodhpur Polo season 2019. In Jodhpur polo season 2018, six tournaments and eight exhibition matches were played.

READ Too: 8 Places To Visit In Jodhpur During The Winter Season

Jodhpur Polo Season 2019 Tournament Schedule

The XXTH JODHPUR POLO SEASON ‘2019′ will start with Hermes Cup- Areana Polo (2 Goals) on Monday November 25. The final of Hermes Cup will be played on Friday November 29, 2019. The Umaid Bhawan Palace Cup 4 goals will be played from Thursday, December 05 till Finals on December 09 i.e Monday.

The Jodhpur Polo Cup – Arena Polo 4 Goals will be played from Saturday, November 30 to Wednesday December 04, 2019. H.H. Maharaja of Jodhpur Cup 8 Goals will be played from 13-18 December, Rajputana and Central India Cup 10 Goals from 19 – 24 December and Maharaja of Jodhpur Golden Jubilee Cup 10 Goals will be held from 25 – 30 December, 2019.

Hermes Cup-Arena Polo (2 Goals) Monday 25th November to Friday 29th November 2019 Finals

Jodhpur Polo Cup-Arena Polo (4 Goals)

Saturday 30 November to Wednesday 04th December 2019 Finals

Umaid Bhawan Palace Cup-Areana Polo (4 Goals)

Thursday 05th December to Monday 09th December 2019 Finals
H.H. Maharaja of Jodhpur Cup (8 Goals) Friday 13th December to Wednesday 18th December 2019 Finals
Rajputana & Central India Cup (10 Goals) Thursday 19th December to Tuesday 24th December 2019 Finals
Maharaja of Jodhpur Golden Jubilee Cup (10 Goals) Wednesday 25th December to Monday 30th December 2019 Finals

READ ALSO: Veer Durgadas Rathore Smarak: A Fitting Memorial Of A True Hero, Savior For Marwar Dynasty

Exhibition Match Schedule

8 exhibition match will also be played in Jodhpur Polo Season 2019. Major Thakur Sardar Singh Jasol Memorial Cup-Arena Polo presented by Thakur Jaswant Singh Ji Jasol will be played on 08th December, BPD Matches on December 11 and 12, Army Commander’s Cup presented by Army Commander Southern Command on 15 December, Abu Seir Cup Presented by Farouk Younes, F.I.P. Ambassador of Egypt on December 22, HH Maharaja Hanwant Singh Cycle Polo Exhibition match on December 24/25, Bhanwar Baijilal Vara Raje Polo Cup on 25 December, Ladies Polo club on 29/30 December.

Maj. Th. Sardar Singh Jasol Memorial Cup-Arena Polo Presented by Th. Jaswant Singhji Jasol Sunday 8th December, 2019
BPD -Match Wednesday 11th December, 2019
BPD -Matches Thursday 12th December, 2019
Army Commander’s Cup Presented by Army Commander Southern Command Sunday 15th December, 2019
The Abu Seir Cup Presented by Farouk Younes, F.I.P. Ambassador of Egypt Sunday 22nd December, 2019
H.H. Maharaja Hanwant Singh Cycle Polo Exhibition match Tuesday 24th / Wednesday 25th December, 2019
Bhanwar Baijilal Vaara Rajye Polo Cup Wednesday 25th December, 2019
Ladies Polo Club Sunday 29th / Monday 30th December 2019
Polo Off Day – Tuesday 10th December, 2019

Famous Players to Attend Jodhpur Polo Season 2019

Indian players including Simran Singh Shergill, Syed Shamsher Ali, Dhruvpal Godara, Sameer Suhag, Saiyyad Bashir Ali, Abhimanyu Pathak, Angad Kalan, Vishal Singh, Gaurav Sahgal, Uday Kalan, Maharaja Jaipur Padmnabh Singh, Salim Azmi, Lokendra Singh Rathod, Siddhanta Sharma, Tarun Bilawal, Bhawani Singh Kalvi, Pratap Singh Kanota are expected to be seen in action for this event.

Among foreign players Lila Pierson, Jeremy Cadogan, Will Amerson, Gaston Devrient, Sam Browne, Torrey Ripinsky, Malcolm Borwick, Bash Kazi, Capt. Mossy Hamilton, Lieutenant Jamie Drummond Moray, Tieyarnan O Rourke, Greg Sater, Second Lt. Oli Powel, Greg Caoubs will the main attraction in the Jodhpur Polo matches.

READ ALSO:  Jodhpur Railway Station Emerge As India’s Cleanest Railway Station

Jodhpur Players in Polo Season

Jodhpur Polo Players Rajkumar Karan Vijay Singh, Janmejai Singh, Kartikey Singh, Dhananjay Singh, Yogeshwar Singh, Hemandra Singh, Nikhilendra Singh, Ankur Mishra, Vishwaraj Singh Bhati and Pep Singh will be the main attraction from the Blue City to play the Jodhpur Polo Season 2019.

Aapno Jodhpur welcome all Polo teams, Players, Guests and Visitors पधारो म्हारे देश  with feelings of “अतिथि देवो भवः” for Jodhpur Polo Season 2019|

Connect with us for all latest updates through Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Do comment below for any queries or information.

About the author

Leave a Reply