23rd Jodhpur Polo season 2022 at Maharaja Gaj Singh Sports Foundation Polo Ground From December 6 till 31. Famous Polo Players, Polo Cups
Events News

Jodhpur Polo Season 2022 to Begin From December 6, Check Here for Polo Matches Schedule, Famous Players in 23rd Jodhpur Polo Season

The 23rd Jodhpur Polo season 2022 is being organized at Maharaja Gaj Singh Sports Foundation Polo Ground, Air Force Road, Pabupura under the auspices of Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute, Jodhpur. The 23rd Jodhpur Polo Season 2022 to be started on December 06 and will be played till December 31 this year.

As per the Equestrian Federation of India (EFI) press release, this year’s event will see four tournaments and 8 one-day demonstration matches. In Jodhpur polo season 2019, six tournaments and eight exhibition matches were played. In Jodhpur Polo Season 2020, 4 tournaments and some exhibition matches were played under Covid-19 guidelines.

The chief guest of the event will be Maharaja Gaj Singh. Maharaja Gajsingh Ji, the present head of the erstwhile Jodhpur royal family, carved out a new grass ground in the shadow of the Umaid Bhavan Palace in 1997; he is also the ambassador and founding patron of the Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute.

Colonel Jagjeet Singh, honorary secretary, Jodhpur Polo and Equestrian Institute, detailed the tournament schedule. Jodhpur Polo Season 2022 will begin with the ‘Umaid Bhawan Palace Cup Polo’ of 4 goals match to be held from December 6 to December 8. The ‘H.H. Maharaja of Jodhpur Cup’ will be 8 goals match running from December 14 to December 18.

Jodhpur is one of the important polo center in the world. Polo and Jodhpur have shared a very strong bond since the 19th century. In 1897, Maharaja Pratap Singh took his local polo team, the Jodhpur Lancers to England, where their performance against the home teams made people sit up and take note.

READ Too: 8 Places To Visit In Jodhpur During The Winter Season

Jodhpur Polo Season 2022 Tournament Schedule

The 23rd Jodhpur Polo Season 2022 will be kicked off with The ‘Umaid Bhawan Palace Cup Polo‘, a 4 goals match to be held from December 6 to December 8. The ‘H.H. Maharaja of Jodhpur Cup‘ will be an 8 goals match running December 14 to December 18.

The ‘Rajputana and Central India Cup‘ and the ‘Maharaja of Jodhpur Golden Jubilee Cup‘ are both 10-goal matches, to be held from December 19 to December 24 and December 27 to December 31, Rajputana, respectively.

Umaid Bhawan Palace Cup (4 Goals)
Tuesday 06th Dec to Thursday 09th Dec 2022 Finals
H.H. Maharaja of Jodhpur Cup (8 Goals)
14th Dec Wednesday to 18th Dec Sunday 2022 Finals
Rajputana & Central India Cup (10 Goals)
19th Dec Monday to 24th Dec Saturday 2022 Finals
Maharaja of Jodhpur Golden Jubilee Cup (10 Goals)
27th Dec Tuesday to 31st Dec Saturday 2022 Finals

READ ALSO: Veer Durgadas Rathore Smarak: A Fitting Memorial Of A True Hero, Savior For Marwar Dynasty

One Day Exhibition Matches in Jodhpur Polo Season 2022

A total of eight one-day exhibition matches will also be played in the season, which is as follows:

1 Mathuradas Mathur Memorial Polo Cup, Presented by Mr. Vishal Mathur & Associates – Sunday 11th December 2022

2. Maj. Th. Sardar Singh Jasol Memorial Cup Presented by Th. Jaswant Singh Jasol – Monday 12th December 2022

3. Maharaja Sardar Singh Cup Presented by Sardar Club – Friday 16th December 2022

4. Indian Air Force Longewala Polo Cup, Presented by AOC-in-C, SWAC IAF – Tuesday 20th December 2022

5. Army Commander’s Cup, Presented by Army Commander Southern Command – Thursday 22nd December 2022

6. The Hermes Cup, Presented by Mons. Patrick Guerrand Hermes Ex-President Federation International Polo. – Saturday 24th December 2022

7. Bhanwar Baijilal Vaara Rajye Polo Cup – Monday 26th December, 2022

8. The Abu Seir Cup Presented by Farouk Younes, F.I.P. Ambassador of Egypt – Friday 30th December, 2022

All these exhibition matches will be played at 03:00 pm. 10th, 13th, and 25th December 2022 will be Polo Off Days.

Famous Players to Attend Jodhpur Polo Season

Indian players including Mr. Syed Shamsher Ali, Abhimanyu Pathak, H.H Maharaja Sawai Padmanabh Singh Of Jaipur, Siddhanta Sharma, Mr. Dhruvpal GodaraSaiyyad Bashir Ali, Gaurav Sahgal, Lokendra Singh Rathod, Kuldeep Singh, Bhawani Singh Kalvi, Major  Aman Singh,  Captain A P Singh, Saiyyad Hur Ali, Maj. Mritunjay Singh, Sport Minsiter of Rajasthan Government Mr. Ashok Chandna, Vikramaditya Barkana, Himmat Singh Bedla, Altaf Khan, Jaisal Singh, Major Adhiraj Singh, Savir Mehraj are expected to be seen in action for this event.

Players from Jodhpur – Harshvardhan Singh Bhawari, Digvijay Singh Bhawari, Janmejay Singh, Kartikey Singh, Kr. Dhananjay Singh, Yogeshwar Singh Bhawari, Hemendra Singh, Nikhilendra Singh, Ankur Mishra, Vishwaraj Singh Bhati, and Pepsingh Bhalasariya will be part in this polo season.

Young players from Mayo College Ajmer – Kirtidev Varman Singh, Dhruvpratap Singh, Dron Shekhawat, Aryavardhan Singh Chauhan, Bhumijay Singh Rathore will play this polo season.

Among foreign players, Mr. Daniel Otamendi (England), Krish Mekensy (Argentina), Launce Watson (South Africa), Salvo H (Argentina), K Boy Gibreth (Argentina) may attend the Jodhpur Polo matches.

READ ALSO:  Jodhpur Railway Station Emerge As India’s Cleanest Railway Station

Aapno Jodhpur welcome all Polo teams, Players, Guests and Visitors पधारो म्हारे देश  with feelings of “अतिथि देवो भवः” for Jodhpur Polo Season 2022.  It will be a thrill to witness the high-octane matches lined up in the coming days.

Connect with us for all the latest updates through Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Do comment below for any queries or information.

Please follow and like us:

About the author

Leave a Reply